What is the Anglican Communion?

Based in 165 countries and representing tens of millions of Christians – the Anglican Communion is one of the world’s largest Christian denominations.

It is a network of independent and interdependent churches in communion – or a reciprocal relationship – with the See of Canterbury. The Communion is organised into a series of provinces and extra-provincial areas. The provinces are subdivided into dioceses, and the dioceses into parishes – at the heart of their communities around the world.

The Provinces are autonomous and free to make their own decisions in their own ways – guided by recommendations from the four Instruments: the Archbishop of Canterbury, the Lambeth Conference, the Primates’ Meeting and the Anglican Consultative Council.

With such scale and reach, the Anglican Communion can have a significant influence in responding to world issues – both locally and globally.

On the front line:

Churches of the Anglican Communion run programmes responding to the human impact of poverty, climate change, conflict, famine, migration in their communities.


Anglican representation at the UN shares Anglican expertise and perspectives from around the Communion, to influence global policy and enable more collaboration with initiatives such as the UN Sustainable Development Goals.

Calling leaders together, the Lambeth Conference provides a once-a-decade opportunity to mobilise and invite the communion to walk together in new ways for the decade ahead.

open to all:
the Phase 3 webinars